Ruby’s blanket!

Since the dawn of the baby-boomer era we have had many new and exciting innovations introduced into society. Whilst many of these have made the world a better place, the flip-side is that we have become over-reliant on “ready made” products. Our society is now so strongly influenced by consumerism it has led to over-consumption and a “throw-away” culture. Sadly, many of us have lost the ability to make things from scratch. One of the things we decided when embarking on this quest for a more sustainable life-style was to learn to make our own things as well as re-use, re-make and re-purpose old items. We also try to give handmade items as presents to family and friends as they are more sustainable and often show more thought and effort than purchasing a “ready made”  item. I posted about making gifts and buying handmade last year, a link to that post can be found here.

As part of our quest to be more sustainable I taught myself how to crochet in 2013. One of the first things I started was a blanket for Ruby. I used the easiest pattern available – the granny square! In August 2013, when Ruby was almost 2, it was about a metre square. 24-8-13

I quickly discovered that crocheting a blanket was a winter only activity so it stayed in its basket until the winter of 2014. Incidentally, the basket is a hand-crafted treasure from the 1960s that I was lucky enough to find at the Pt Adelaide markets a few years ago.

11887892_10206259887709985_6087895086799025534_n

When summer came around again it still wasn’t big enough.

1-11-14

Ruby was always wanting to cuddle up in it, so I wanted to make it big enough that she could sleep under it comfortably.

1-11-14-2

Of course, as time passed she grew so the blanket had to grow with her. I finally finished it this afternoon while sitting in front of the heater with Ruby and baby Violet. Ruby was most impressed.

11902482_10206259926230948_9126984128914898441_n (2)

15-8-15 (4)

It has ended up being about 10 rows bigger than I first intended, 43 rows in all.

15-8-15

So, while making your own is a great idea be prepared for it to take a while! Hopefully, Violet’s blanket will not take me as long.

About A Kailyard in Adelaide

A Kailyard in Adelaide! We are working hard to be domestically sustainable in the foothills of Adelaide. As we both work fulltime this is not an easy task, but we do our best growing much of our own produce in our yard and in our community garden plots. We reduce, recycle and reuse as much as possible and try hard to not consume mindlessly. We have 5000 l of rainwater, a 5 kw solar system, and use a green energy provider for all our excess needs. Rachel: Mother, partner, teacher, writer, reader, crafter, cook, gardener, artist. Jamie: Father, partner, lecturer, therapist, would-be-politician, gardener, photographer, music lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ruby’s blanket!

  1. Love those colours, Rachel! Perhaps Violet’s blanket will be made of cotton so you can keep going all summer long 🙂

  2. Jan says:

    I love the bright happy, colours you have used for Ruby’s blanket. I love to crochet, my Mum taught me when I was a teenager. I have just started a sampler afghan for my bed, I guess it will take at least 3 winters to finish.

  3. If you can crochet, then you will find making the baskets you pictured a breeze! They are quite simple to construct and then crochet or hand stitch together. I might do a tutorial on that sometime, or you could contact me if you are interested…

  4. Pingback: Handmade Gifts | A Kailyard in Adelaide!

Leave a Reply

