A Simpler Way

1ca4c3c3493b0a7f3509c10a84854715

So let’s shift to the Simpler Way

These words are taken from The Conversation an on-line an article written by Frederick Trainer, that I first came across  just after December 25th 2014. I hope that you take a look at the article and perhaps it will strike a chord with you as it did with me. Hello, this is Jamie, guest blogger and the other half of the A Kailyard in Adelaide team. Rachel has provided me with an opportunity to write a post – I hope you enjoy this blog and I hope Rachel will allow me to write another!

008

What I like about this article is that it offers a way forward and represents something of  vision for the future; it espouses the requirement for change and a “new economy” and also acknowledges that realistically “radical transition” is required to achieve a “simpler way”. I would encourage you to read it and explore the links. It seems that as I get older (whoa, approaching the big Five O) I have become more radical not only in my thinking, but thankfully also in my actions. So what does that mean? For me it is about increasingly growing more of my own food, sharing this freely with family, friends and the wider community, attempting to live a more sustainable lifestyle by consuming less, and promoting this ‘philosophy’ to others whenever and in whatever way I can. This is the K.I.A philosophy aka Rachel and Jamie’s blog.

005

So let me take you back to the week before Christmas. Come with me if you dare, suppress that involuntary shudder and take yourself back to the hurly burly of  frenzied shopping, roads crammed with traffic and big planning decisions around meal preparation for the day. Welcome to the ‘festive season’!  I was one of the fortunate ones who was able to avoid the big shopping centres and also the meal preparation for the day (a BIG thank-you to Rachel).  Now this was not because I didn’t buy presents for friends and family, or because I am an on-line shopper but because I have been there so many times before; fighting for that elusive car space and joining the ever lengthening queues and sporting that sometimes glazed over, sometimes anxious but always harried look in the shopping days just before Christmas. Never again. But it’s also not just about avoidance. I just don’t want to mindlesslessly consume and grease the wheels of the economy. Instead Rachel hand-made gifts and what she couldn’t make she bought from others who could. Many of the gifts we purchased were not mass produced goods but artisan products or second hand. Rachel and I had also talked about volunteering in a soup kitchen for Christmas Day to really do something that we thought would be meaningful however when we enquired about this we were gently reminded that there were many other days when help was really needed; we plan to do this in 2015.

044

Now, I also know that we don’t all celebrate the 25th of December and what it means on the Christian calendar, but it seems to me many people regardless of their religious beliefs ‘celebrate’ with over-indulgence, over-consumption and then are well and truly ‘over it’, at least for another 364 days of the year. As we all are aware Governments tell us to spend up big; it then translates into what is called “consumer confidence” , an indicator of how well the economy is going. We  want to “break” those shopping records, boost the economy and keep it all going the same way, always. Always? But is this sustainable? No. And yes, you would have guessed it – I don’t want to keep doing that and so that’s why I’m considered radical. And proud to be. So, I hope you can join me  and grow more of your own food and share freely with family, friends and the wider community, attempt to live a more sustainable lifestyle by consuming less, and promoting this ‘philosophy’ to others whenever and in whatever way you can. Let’s be radical together and lets choose a better way. By adopting  The Simpler Way in 2015 it will be a happier new year, for all.

simple life

About A Kailyard in Adelaide

A Kailyard in Adelaide! We are working hard to be domestically sustainable in the foothills of Adelaide. As we both work fulltime this is not an easy task, but we do our best growing much of our own produce in our yard and in our community garden plots. We reduce, recycle and reuse as much as possible and try hard to not consume mindlessly. We have 5000 l of rainwater, a 5 kw solar system, and use a green energy provider for all our excess needs. Rachel: Mother, partner, teacher, writer, reader, crafter, cook, gardener, artist. Jamie: Father, partner, lecturer, therapist, would-be-politician, gardener, photographer, music lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Simpler Way

  1. Thanks for a great post, Jamie. It’s a timely reminder of what really matters.

  2. I love this post 🙂 A simple way is needed.

Leave a Reply

