Zucchini lasagne!

There has been a distinct lack of posts from our little blog lately. A combination of end of term reports and the flu have kept me from writing. Thankfully, Jamie has still managed to find time for the garden. I will post an update on that soon.

In the meantime, this post is dedicated to the last of our zucchinis. The last few were large, slightly misshapen and a little battered looking, but still good for cooking.

005

I decided to use them in a lasagne where the slices of zucchini replace the pasta. I found plenty of recipes, but none I was happy with so I invented my own. Firstly I sliced all the zucchinis in my trusty food processor.

chop

I then sliced 800 grams of button mushrooms.

004

I sautéed a brown onion in a little olive oil and when softened added the mushrooms and a jar of Passata (sadly not home-made, maybe next year…).

006

While that was simmering nicely I made the béchamel. For this I combined 3/4 of a cup of Greek yoghurt, 250 grams of Ricotta, one egg and a handful of parmesan. It was beaten till smooth.

009

I covered the bottom of my lasagne dish with a couple of spoons of tomato sauce, then added my first layer of zucchini. This was followed by a layer of tomato, béchamel and zucchini and repeated.

010

The final layer of zucchini was topped with the last of the béchamel and 100 grams of mozzarella.

012

I baked it in a 200 degree oven for 45 minutes.

014

The final result was watery, but tasted fabulous. The vegetarian child proclaimed it the best she has ever eaten!

 

 

About A Kailyard in Adelaide

A Kailyard in Adelaide! We are working hard to be domestically sustainable in the foothills of Adelaide. As we both work fulltime this is not an easy task, but we do our best growing much of our own produce in our yard and in our community garden plots. We reduce, recycle and reuse as much as possible and try hard to not consume mindlessly. We have 5000 l of rainwater, a 5 kw solar system, and use a green energy provider for all our excess needs. Rachel: Mother, partner, teacher, writer, reader, crafter, cook, gardener, artist. Jamie: Father, partner, lecturer, therapist, would-be-politician, gardener, photographer, music lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zucchini lasagne!

  1. Erin marriott says:

    Sounds delish, I didn’t grow any this year as we had so many last year but I missed them ha ha

Leave a Reply

