A productive day

The beauty of school holidays is the amount of things you can catch up on; things that usually get forgotten due to the enormous amount of marking I constantly wrestle with during term time.

This morning I was able to water in a leisurely fashion instead of the usual mad rush. The tomatoes are finally starting to show some colour which is great. I was hoping to make pasta sauce to store for the winter months before I went back to school, but I doubt it will happen this year.

005

A family of five magpies are often in the front garden fossicking for worms and drinking the water we leave out for them. Earlier this week we discovered our first red tomato was partially eaten and we suspected the maggies. Beak marks in the pumpkin today prove that it is them!

001

To try and beat them I put the pumpkin in a stocking; fingers crossed it keeps the maggies away and keeps growing!

002  24028236

I dehydrated a heap of zucchini to make salt and vinegar zucchini chips using a recipe I found on pinterest. If you want to try them then thinly slice 4-5 zucchinis. Put in a large bowl and add 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1 tablespoon vinegar of choice and 1 teaspoon crushed rock salt. Carefully toss with salad servers until all the zucchini is covered. Place onto drying racks and dehydrate for 12-15 hours. Alternatively, they can be baked in a very low oven for 2-3 hours.

001 (2)

They taste amazing! They look dark as I used Balsamic vinegar. They turn out lighter if using cider or white vinegar

.011

My kitchen cupboards have been in dire need of a sort so I have been busy arranging them into a more useable space. I bought a number of large cane baskets for storage and decided today to create some fun labels for some of them. It has been almost a year since I have done anything crafty with paper so I thoroughly enjoyed myself. It was great to use up some of the bits and pieces I have in my studio.

018  016  005

I particularly like the tag for ‘Mags’ (magazines wouldn’t fit so I had to resort to abbreviating). I have had the vintage American cream top for years just waiting for the right project. The button is also from the 1960s. The paper background is from a 1940s cookbook I own.

025

Ordinarily, I would never destroy a book but this one will never be used again. It contains the most outrageous recipes, things no-one would ever cook let alone eat.

Shrimp-Aspic-Mold001-1024x607 6TD7o pineappleduchesspic

Anyway, I’m very pleased with how they look in the cupboard. I plan to make more for my craft cupboard, but as there is only two weeks of holidays left I’m not sure it will happen this time!

026

About A Kailyard in Adelaide

A Kailyard in Adelaide! We are working hard to be domestically sustainable in the foothills of Adelaide. As we both work fulltime this is not an easy task, but we do our best growing much of our own produce in our yard and in our community garden plots. We reduce, recycle and reuse as much as possible and try hard to not consume mindlessly. We have 5000 l of rainwater, a 5 kw solar system, and use a green energy provider for all our excess needs. Rachel: Mother, partner, teacher, writer, reader, crafter, cook, gardener, artist. Jamie: Father, partner, lecturer, therapist, would-be-politician, gardener, photographer, music lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A productive day

  1. Barbara Good says:

    Love those tags, what a clever way of labelling your storage baskets. I too have a cook book similar to that one going by the pictures. My grandmother gave it to me so I could never part with it, but will also probably never cook from it.

Leave a Reply

